Kansas Day

March 15th: National Kansas Day

Kansas was the 34th state to join the United States of America. They are known as The Sunflower State. The state of Kansas was portrayed in the movie, The Wizard of Oz. Dorothy’s famous journey down the yellow brick road is all about her trying to get home to Kansas. She loves her home state and knows that there is nowhere else like it.

How I’m Celebrating

I love watching March Madness every year with my dad. We have all watched several games this week leading up to the tournament. It has been too cold to be out on the beach for long at a time, so it’s been nice to have games to watch between our short walks.

I filled out a bracket and entered a pool with my friends at work. Kansas was one of my picks for the first round. I think that they have potential to go pretty far in the tournament. They are a one seed and have had a pretty good season. I think that they definitely have this game in the bag. They are playing 16 seed University of Pennsylvania. My bracket has them going all of the way to the Elite Eight. I’m hoping that I’m correct with my predictions and I’ll definitely be cheering Kansas on for National Kansas Day today!

Author: Emily Hamby

My name is Emily Hamby. I’m a wife and dog mom living in Knoxville, Tennessee. For 2018 I am celebrating one National Holiday every day of the year. I decided to start this journey because I believe that there are moments every day that are worth celebrating. Choosing a holiday every day is a great way to create memories this year.

Leave a comment